American Samoa Official Logo for the 10th Festival of Pacific Arts
Home News Festival American Samoa Visitor Information Participants Sponsors About  
In American Samoa it is now

Introduction Links Charter Flight Info Vessel Requirements Drug Laws


Information on American Samoa



Political Status:

American samoa is known as an "Unorganized" and "Unincorporated" Territory of the United States

American Samoa is administered by the Office of Insular Affairs under the U.S. Department of the Interior. Its constitution was ratified in 1966 and was effective in 1967. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in the two chambers of the legislature consisting of a Senate (18 members chosen by county councils) and a House of Representatives (20 members elected by popular vote, plus one nonvoting member from Swains Island, which is privately owned). The American political parties (Republican and Democrats) exist in American Samoa, but few politicians are aligned with the parties. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

American Samoa also sends one nonvoting delegate to the United States Congress.

Head of State:

United States President George W. Bush


Honorable Togiola T.A. Tulafono

National Motto:

"Samoa muamua le Atua" (Samoa, Let God be first)


Pago Pago


14 degrees south latitude and about 170 degrees west longitude



Time Zone :

UTC - 11 (no DST)

Calling Code:

+1 684


The Samoan culture is alive and strong and continues to be traditionally governed through a matai system. The egalitarian ideals of this communal society place loyalty to family and religion above all.

Source: Strategic Plan for ICT Development in American Samoa, ASG May 2006





© American Samoa Office for the 10th Festival of Pacific Arts 2006

Site design by John Newton - contact webmaster